Russian Soul Sundays nalystnyks, Russian cuisine, soul food

Happy Feelings

0 0
Read Time1 Minute, 20 Second

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbpajI3ODzI&w=420&h=315]

Advertisements

Russian Soul Sundays.

It was a term M. and I came up with when we first got married. We would have one day a week where we’ll have soul food and Russian cuisine. It was a great idea at first and we did employ it a few times. Then after a while, laziness (I’ll keep it real) came in and well, Russian Soul Sundays was out.

Now, it’s back!

As Bear gets older and we’re trying to expand our family, I want our kids to recognize both sides of their identity. I don’t want them to be unfamiliar by collard greens, Russian salad, or the like because we never had it in the home. I want them to recognize a kale leaf as much as they would be familiar with sweet potato pie or pierogis.

Today I’m cooking pork pot roast with a side of nalystnyks. Personally, I’ve never made nalystnks so this is going to be an interesting experiment. Originally I wanted to include fried chicken as the main course but since we just went grocery shopping, I’m making pork roast. I might include some black eyed peas as another side to make sure we have a filling dinner.

This would be the part where I’ll include pictures but since I don’t have any (I’m still cooking), you just have to take my word for it. I’ll post an update tomorrow or later today as to how it turned out. I’ll probably create a special category just for this. 🙂

Happy Sunday, fam!

IMG_0485

About Post Author

Crystal

Hi, I'm Crystal! Mother of 1 human, 3 cats, and a glorified housewife to a fantastic man. Let's have fun and enjoy life together!
Happy
Happy
0 %
Sad
Sad
0 %
Excited
Excited
0 %
Sleepy
Sleepy
0 %
Angry
Angry
0 %
Surprise
Surprise
0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
0%
4 Star
0%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

One thought on “Happy Feelings

Comments are closed.